Recent News

Honors and Awards

Peter Bruggeman is inaugural recipient of University of Michigan Prize in Plasma Science and Engineering

2023-10-11 Prof. Peter J. Bruggeman has been awarded the University of Michigan Prize for Excellence in Plasma Science and Engineering, “For contributions to the understanding of non-thermal plasma interactions with solids, liquids, and living matter, scientific leadership, and advancement of plasma-based technologies enabling applications in plasma-biology, chemical conversion, and water treatment.”

Gottlieb Oehrlein Inducted to Plasma Materials Science Hall of Fame

2023-04-24 Prof. Gottlieb Oehrlein has been awarded the 2023 Plasma Materials Science Hall of Fame Prize for “excellent achievements in fundamental research on non-equilibrium physicochemical reactions at the interfaces between plasma and materials during plasma etching for microelectronics manufacturing, which have led plasma materials science for many years as a guiding principle for the research and development of ultra-fine processing technology”.

Aditya Bhan named 2023 Distinguished McKnight University Professor

2023-04-15 Prof. Aditya Bhan was named as a 2023 Distinguished McKnight University Professor. The program recognizes the most distinguished and highest-achieving mid-career faculty who have recently attained full professor status—especially those who have made significant advances in their careers at the University of Minnesota, whose work and reputation are identified with the University, and whose accomplishments have brought great renown and prestige to Minnesota.

Ali Mesbah receives Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship

2023-04-15 Prof. Ali Mesbah is a recipient of the 2023 Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship.

Bryan Goldsmith receives 1938E award

2023-01-23 Prof. Bryan Goldsmith has received the 1938E award from the College of Engineering. Considered one of the most prestigious awards given by the College, the 1938E is given to only one assistant professor in the College each year in recognition of exceptional mentorship, teaching and contribution to their department.

Aditya Bhan wins 2023–2024 Paul H. Emmett Award

2022-11-11 Prof. Aditya Bhan received the 2023–2024 Paul H. Emmett Award in Fundamental Catalysis from North American Catalysis Society for “bringing analytical formalisms and detailed experimentation to elicit kinetic and mechanistic information, verified against thermodynamic measurements and strictures, into hydrocarbon reaction systems of significant complexity and practical utility”.

Archive of Past News